Your Self Cash Advance toolkit.

Get $25 to $300 with no interest, no credit check, and no hidden fees. Start the path to financial freedom.

Self app showing Credit Builder Account progress with an overlapping Self Visa credit card
+47 points

Grow your score

See a 47 point average lift in your credit score with a Credit Builder Account.

Self. VISA

Easy to get, powerful to use

Increase your spending power with Self secured Credit Card. No credit check, high approval rates, fast application!

Reports to Experian EQUIFAX TransUnion

Build credit fast

Report on time rent to all 3 bureaus, so you build credit while living life.

Build savings while building credit.

Build savings and credit with Self's Credit Builder Account — plus, lift up your credit by reporting rent and bills.

Learn more
Man building credit and savings while working at his desk
Two Self Visa credit cards, secured and unsecured, stacked together

Turn everyday purchases into credit history.

Self's secured and unsecured credit cards help you easily build credit. Reports to all 3 credit bureaus, apply in minutes!

Learn more

Keep life moving — money for when you need it.

Stay in control! Self Cash helps with unexpected expenses without hurting your credit goals.

Learn more
Shopper carrying groceries and a Self Cash debit card

How Self Cash Advance works.

No paperwork, no long wait times, and no credit check. Here's how it works from start to finish.

1

Download the Self app

Get Self free from the Apple App Store or Google Play. Create your account in under two minutes.

2

Connect your bank

Link your bank account securely through Plaid and connect a debit card for funding and repayment.

3

Request your advance

Apply for Self Cash in the app. No existing products needed. Get personalized offers within five minutes.

4

Choose your amount

Select from $25 to $300 based on your eligibility. Amounts are tailored to your financial profile.

5

Pick your funding speed

Choose free ACH delivery (1–3 days) or instant debit card delivery for a small fee of $3 to $6.

6

Automatic repayment

Repayment is automatically withdrawn from your linked debit card on your due date, matched to payday.

Self Cash Advance fees and costs.

Transparency matters. Most fees are zero.

Fee TypeAmountDetails
Interest Rate$0 — 0% APRRepay exactly what you borrowed
Late Payment Fee$0No penalties
Subscription$0No monthly subscription required
Credit CheckNoneNo hard or soft inquiry
Standard Delivery (ACH)Free1–3 business days
Instant Delivery (Debit)$3 – $6Same-day funding
Credit Score ImpactNoneNot reported to bureaus

Compared to credit card cash advances (3–5% fee + ~24.47% APR) and payday loans (APRs exceeding 400%), Self Cash is significantly more affordable.

Eligibility and available states.

No minimum credit score. No hard credit checks.

What you need

  • The Self app (free on iOS and Android)
  • A U.S. bank account connected through Plaid
  • A debit card linked to your bank account
  • Residence in one of 26 eligible states

What you don't need

  • No minimum credit score required
  • No existing Self products or accounts
  • No employment verification or pay stubs
  • No monthly subscription or membership

Available in 26 states

ArizonaArkansasFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIndianaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMississippiMissouriMontanaNevadaNorth CarolinaOhioOregonPennsylvaniaSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWisconsin

Credit Builder Account plans.

24-month plans reported to all three bureaus monthly.

PlanMonthlyTermAPRTotal PaidReturned
Small Builder$25/mo24 mo15.92%$600~$520
Medium Builder$35/mo24 mo15.69%$840~$724
Large Builder$48/mo24 mo15.51%$1,152~$530
Extra Large$150/mo24 mo15.82%$3,600~$1,663

*2025 TransUnion study: average 47-point VantageScore increase in 12 months. Results vary. $9 admin fee applies.

Compare all Self Financial products.

FeatureSelf CashCredit BuilderSecured VisaSelf PlusRent Reporting
TypeCash AdvanceInstallment LoanSecured CardUnsecured CardReporting
Amount$25–$300$520–$1,663$100+$200+N/A
Credit CheckNoneSoft pullNoneHard pullNone
APR0%15.51–15.92%27.49%30.99%N/A
Fees$0–$6$9 admin$0→$25/yr$35/yrFree–$6.95/mo
Bureau ReportsNoneAll 3All 3All 3Rent:3 Bills:1
States26All 50All 50All 50All 50

Self Cash Advance vs. other apps.

No subscription and a full credit-building ecosystem set Self apart.

FeatureSelf CashEarnInDaveBrigitMoneyLionTilt
Max Advance$300$300/day$500$250$500$400
SubscriptionNoneNone$1–$5/mo$9.99/moNone$8/mo
Interest0%0%0%0%0%0%
Credit BuildingFull SuiteNoLimitedLimitedYesNo

Your credit-building journey.

From emergency cash to financial freedom — step by step.

Start here

Get a cash advance or open a Credit Builder Account. No credit check required.

Build credit

Make on-time payments. Use Secured Visa responsibly. Report rent and bills.

Graduate

After 6 months, qualify for the unsecured Self Plus card — no deposit needed.

Financial freedom

Better rates, premium cards, easier approvals, lower insurance premiums.

Self has helped improve my credit a lot and has taught me so much about financial literacy. It's a growing and learning experience, I appreciate this app so much!

— Bry, Self Customer

Advantages and considerations.

Advantages

  • Cash advances up to $300 with 0% interest
  • No credit check for cash advance or Credit Builder
  • Full credit-building ecosystem in one platform
  • Reports to all 3 credit bureaus monthly
  • Secured Visa with $100 minimum deposit
  • Free rent reporting to all 3 bureaus
  • Average 47-point score increase in 12 months
  • 4.9-star app — 250,000+ reviews
  • FDIC-insured partner banks

Considerations

  • Cash advance available in 26 states only
  • Initial amounts may be lower for new users
  • Credit Builder has interest (15.51–15.92%)
  • Savings locked 24 months in Credit Builder
  • Secured Visa has no cashback or rewards
  • Self Plus: $35/yr fee, 30.99% APR
  • Utility reporting to TransUnion only
  • Debit card convenience fee applies

Frequently asked questions.

Yes. Self Cash is offered by Self Financial, Inc., founded in 2014 in Austin, Texas. Partners with FDIC-insured banks. Over 1 million customers, 4.9-star rating, 250K+ reviews.
No. No credit check of any kind. All credit scores welcome including no credit history at all.
$25 to $300 based on eligibility. Initial amounts for new customers may be lower. No guarantee of a specific offer amount.
Free ACH delivery takes 1–3 business days. Instant debit card delivery costs $3–$6 with same-day funding.
No. Self Cash is not reported to credit bureaus. Other Self products (Credit Builder, credit cards) do report to help build credit.
No. Self Cash is standalone. Just the app, a linked bank account, and a debit card.
An installment loan held in an FDIC-insured CD. Pay $25–$150/month for 24 months. Every payment reported to all 3 bureaus. Get savings back at the end minus interest and fees.
No. The Self Visa is for purchases only. Self Cash and Self Visa are separate products.
6+ months of on-time Self payments required. Income/expense review and credit check. No deposit. Starting limit $200.
No. Self Financial, Inc. is a fintech partnering with FDIC-insured banks — Lead Bank, Sunrise Banks N.A., First Century Bank N.A.

Ready to take control of your credit?

Diverse group of people crossing a crosswalk together, representing Self customers on their financial journey